Colchester Castle

Colchester Castleone of  most important tourist attractions.

Castle Museum now re-open to the public after having a major refurbishment.



Colchester CastleThese works will ensure the Castle remains an outstanding visitor attraction fit for the twenty-first century. More of the Castle’s historic interior will be revealed as a result of the renovation and the building will be made fully accessible for wheelchairs. When it reopens in 2014, the Castle will tell the 2,000-year story of Colchester in a fresh and exciting new way.

You’ll be able to follow in the footsteps of Roman soldiers and Norman invaders, discover the story of the Witch finder General, and learn why Queen Boudicca burned Colchester to the ground. There will be a full-size burial reconstruction, audio character stories, replica objects to handle, and much more.

Museum the most ancient building in the town. Beneath the building laying the remains of the Temple of Claudius, it was the Romans most famous creation. The stonework of the castle is amazing and ancient. Romans believe the castle and the temple are the symbols of their success and power. When the Sacking of the Colchester was being done in AD 60 then these buildings were ruined and after the revolt had stopped then Romans rebuilt the magnificent temple and castle.

Colchester Castle was also used as a prison for almost half of its life. It was used by Matthew Hopkins to imprison the witches. In 1860 the Castle was transformed into a museum for the people. Still this place has a vibrant look and environment. It is considered to be the flagship museum of the town and it shows the real picture of Britain’s oldest town called Colchester. In the museum you can find the events occurred in British history 2000 years ago. It is now an award-winning museum. It features the history of the Colchester town starting from the

During the English Civil Wars, Royalist leaders Sir Charles Lucas and Sir George Lisle seized the town of Colchester and declared it a Royalist stronghold.

In 1648, after a twelve-week siege, the town was taken by the Parliamentarians and the Royalist leaders executed behind the Castle – near the spot where the obelisk now stands in Castle Park.

In 1683 – by which point the roof had collapsed and the building was severely neglected – the Castle was sold to local man John Weeley, who planned to dismantle it for building materials.

When he failed to make any money from his venture, demolition was mercifully halted, but only after Weeley had already destroyed much of the upper structure.

In 1727, Colchester Castle was given as a wedding present to Charles Gray, a lawyer and antiquarian. Gray began to restore parts of the building (which at the time he believed to be Roman), and added a library and a study.

In the late 1740s Gray created a park around the ruined Castle: the origins of today’s Castle Park. Though he died before the area was sold to the corporation of Colchester, Charles Gray’s Will ensured that the Castle was held in trust with that eventual purpose.

The museum’s collection of historic objects was started by Colchester Council in 1846, in a room at the Town Hall. The museum was then transferred to the Castle crypt, and opened to the public on 27 September 1860.

Colchester Borough Council acquired the Castle and associated parkland in 1920 when it was presented to the borough by Viscount Cowdray, and in the mid 1930s a new roof was added to the keep.

Leave a reply